Cross-border justice: for legal professionals

Court service agreement

Courts covered by the agreement

The Chief Magistrates of the three jurisdictions approved the agreement. The courts covered by the agreement include:

  • Courts of Summary Jurisdiction and the Youth Justice Court of the Northern Territory
  • the Magistrates Court and Children’s Court of Western Australia
  • the Magistrates Court and Youth Court of South Australia.

What the agreement includes

The service level agreement includes all of the following:

  • operational and practical issues of conducting court in another jurisdiction
  • outline of protocols for the provision of cross-border court services, such as interpreters, witness support, handling of appeals and youth court cases
  • clarifies that there is no collection of fines, fees or costs under laws of another state, and that magistrates may use facilities in another state at no cost
  • the role of the registrars, including:
    • provision of information on court circuits in the region and forms for sittings of cross-border magistrates
    • coordinate cross-border cases
    • updates on changes to procedure, legislation and forms
  • information on the cross-border court services committee that is made up of registrars and that meets quarterly to monitor and coordinate the operation of cross-border court services.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 11 January 2016

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.