NT Law Reform Committee

The Northern Territory Law Reform Committee is a non-statutory committee established to advise the Attorney-General on the reform of law in the Northern Territory (NT).

The committee includes the chair and 12 other members including:

  • the Chief Judge
  • the Ombudsman
  • the Chief Executive Officer of the Law Society Northern Territory
  • members of the legal profession
  • academic staff of Charles Darwin University
  • a representative from NT Police
  • a member from an Aboriginal body.

The Committee considers matters referred to it from time to time by the Attorney-General.

The Legal Policy Division of the Department of the Attorney‑General and Justice provides executive and administrative support to the Committee.

Name Position
Professor Les McCrimmon President
Mr Russell Goldflam Vice-President
Ms Julianna Marshall Member
Ms Ros Vickers Member
Ms Sally Sievers Member
Mr Kelvin Strange Member
Ms Peggy Cheong Member
Ms Beth Wild Member
Ms Maria Savvas Member
Mr Ron Levy Member
Superintendent Richard Bryson Member
Mr Nikolai Christrup SC Ex-officio member
Ms Gemma Lake Ex-officio member
Hon Chanston (Chansey) Paech MLA Ex-officio member
Chief Judge Elizabeth Morris Ex officio Member
Mr Peter Shoyer Ex officio Member
Mr Chris Sapinoso Executive Officer

NT Law Reform Committee publications

View published reports of the Committee.

View Constitution of the Law Reform Committee of the Northern Territory. PDF (111.6 KB)

View the Mandatory Sentencing and Community-Based Sentencing Options Consultation Paper.

Contact the NT Law Reform Committee

GPO Box 1535 Darwin NT
Phone: (08) 8935 7744
Fax: (08) 8935 7662
Email: Lawreformcommittee.DOJ@nt.gov.au

Last updated: 04 July 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!