About us

The Northern Territory Department of Attorney-General and Justice is responsible for all of the following:

Legal services

  • Solicitor-General's Chambers
  • Policy Coordination
  • Legal Policy
  • Commercial
  • Litigation
  • Crimes Victims Service Unit
  • Domestic Violence Directorate
  • Criminal Justice Research and Statistics
  • Legal Services Coordination.

Director of Public Prosecutions

  • Crown Prosecutions
  • Summary Prosecutions
  • Witness Assistance Services.

Courts and tribunals

Independent offices

Associated legal agencies and independent bodies with the department include:


Hon. Natasha Fyles MLA

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice
Minister for Health

Read more on the Legislative Assembly website.

Executive management team

Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Meredith Day is the Deputy Chief Executive Officer.

Chief Executive Officer

Greg Shanahan is the Chief Executive Officer.

Last updated: 21 September 2016