Community Consultative Committee

The Community Consultative Committee was set up to provide input at all stages of, and after, the commissioning of the Darwin Correctional Precinct.

The committee is responsible for considering and commenting on information provided by the Northern Territory (NT) Correctional Services.

It advises on current and emerging issues from a community prospective. The committee represents the needs of the local community and assists the department in keeping the community and stakeholders informed about progress.

Community representatives 


Superintendent Daniel Shean

NT Police
Mayor Allan McKayLitchfield Council
Peggy Cheong (president)Law Society NT
Betti Knott (treasurer)NT Council of Social Services
Nicki PetrouTop End Women's Legal Service
Major Lynne AylwardDepartment of Defence
June MillsLarrakia Nation
Lisa McKinney Smithindividual (ratepayer)
Jan Peters City of Palmerston
Reverend Paul AveryNT Council of Churches
Samuel Bush Blanasi (chairman)NT Land Council
Wayne Zerbe (president)Palmerston Regional Business Association

Department of Correctional Services representatives 

Mark PayneCommissioner
Tracy Watkinsacting general manager Darwin Correctional Precinct
Bill Carrollacting executive director Correctional Operations

Last updated: 12 April 2019

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.